Group of Friends

A core principle of the CTI is achieving progress through cooperation and sharing experiences among States parties and non-States parties to the Convention. Non-Government friends can play a crucial role in the provision of technical advice and support, both to CTI and to states directly. 

This is why the Group of Friends concept is important to the overall success of the Initiative. The CTI continues to invite states, torture prevention experts, international, regional and non-governmental organizations sharing the vision and objectives of the CTI to join the Group of Friends.

Membership of the Group of Friends does not come with specific obligations or commitments. Friends are at any time free to determine how and to what extent they wish to engage in and support the CTI. However, it is hoped that friends may be able to offer assistance where possible through active engagement in CTI meetings and seminars and in encouraging states towards ratification and better implementation of the Convention.

Current members of the Group of Friends (updated on a rolling basis) include:


Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Iraq, Italy, Jordan, Luxembourg, Macedonia (former Yugoslav Republic of), Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA.



ACAT France, African Center for Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture Victims (ACTV - Uganda), Amnesty International, Center for Victims of Torture (USA), Centre for Civil and Political Rights, DIGNITY (Denmark), FIACAT, International Aid Network, International Bar Association, International Commission of Jurists, Omega Research Foundation, Penal Reform International, REDRESS Trust, SAVE CONGO, Shield for Justice Foundation (Kenya), Universal Rights Group, University of Bristol, UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture.


Jennifer Bryson, Director of Operations and Development, Center for Islam and Religious Freedom (CIRF), former Guantanamo interrogator; Rafendi Djamin, Advisor, Human Rights Working Group; Malcolm Evans, Professor of Public International Law/Chair of SPT; Felice Gaer, CAT Member; Claudio Grossman, former CAT Chair; Abdelwahab Hani, CAT Member; Claude Heller, CAT Member; Juan Mendez, former Special Rapporteur on Torture; Jens Modvig, CAT Chair; Manfred Nowak, former Special Rapporteur on Torture; Shane O'Mara, Professor of Experimental Brain Research, Trinity College Dublin, and Principal Investigator and Director of the Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience; Nora Sveaass, SPT member and Associate Professor, University of Oslo.

How to join

Interest in joining the CTI Group of Friends can be indicated by letter or email to the CTI Secretariat (address: Centre Jean-Jacques Gautier, Route de Ferney 10, PO Box 137, CH-1211 Geneva 19; email: