

UNITED NATIONS HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL

34th Session - Item 3 General Debate

Statement by Morocco on behalf of the Convention against Torture Initiative

Thank you, Mr. President,

I have the pleasure of speaking on behalf of the Governments of Chile, Denmark, Ghana, Indonesia and Morocco as part of the Convention against Torture Initiative, CTI.

Mr. President,

It's been three years since we set ourselves the ambitious goal of having the UN Convention against Torture universally ratified and better implemented. An impressive 161 States are party to the Convention – 34 have yet to ratify.

We believe universal ratification can still be achieved by continuing to follow our simple strategy: to create platforms where States share experiences, and assist and inspire each other to ratify and improve implementation.

CTI has continued to reach out to a wide number of States over the past year: we have had **events and activities** in Geneva and New York, as well as in Denmark, Fiji, Ghana, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Suriname and Vienna. The participation of 46 States in our 3 major regional events tells us there is strong global will to rid the world of the crime of torture.

We also released a revised version of our **UNCAT Ratification Tool** which now contains easy-to-use templates on ratification, accession, reservations and declarations. Together with the Association for the Prevention of Torture, we published a **Guide on Anti-Torture Legislation**; we released a **short film on rehabilitation of torture victims**; and we have started the development of a number of **UNCAT implementation tools** which will be made available online on a rolling basis.

Mr President,

Allow me to draw the Council's attention to some of the progress on the Convention made by States over the past year.

We welcomed two new States parties in 2016: **Fiji** and the **Central African Republic**. Already this year, **Sao Tome and Principe** has ratified and is to be congratulated for doing so. We also welcome **Cabo Verde**, the **Central African Republic** and **Ghana** as new States parties to the Optional Protocol.





We commend ongoing efforts by **Comoros, Grenada, Malaysia, Oman and Suriname** to ratify the Convention. We also commend **Papua New Guinea, Sudan and Suriname** for accepting UPR recommendations *to ratify* the Convention. CTI looks forward to cooperating and supporting them in these endeavors. Furthermore, we commend **Australia, Belgium, Ireland, Namibia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland and Thailand** for committing *to ratify* OPCAT.

We have also seen positive progress towards more effective national implementation of the Convention and the Optional Protocol. We commend States for their ongoing efforts to this end.

Allow us to highlight the importance of the UN Committee against Torture, the UN Sub-Committee for Prevention of Torture, and the UN Special Rapporteur on torture who are essential players in the global fight against torture. We would like to thank all three mechanisms for the strong collaboration we have had over the past year and we encourage all States to continue their constructive cooperation with these mechanisms.

We would like to extend our thanks to the 37 UN Member States who have so far joined the CTI **Group of Friends**. We are grateful for the continued support, such as through their bilateral efforts and participation in the regional CTI events. We reiterate our invitation to *all* UN Member States to join the CTI Group of Friends.

We would also like to recognize the range of NGOs and leading experts that are important members of the Friends' group as well as extend a special thanks to the Association for the Prevention of Torture. We look forward to continue the close and strong partnership in 2017.

Finally, we strongly encourage States that have not yet taken steps towards ratification of the UN Convention against Torture to consider doing so. The CTI stands ready to support any State wishing to advance on this issue.

I thank you, Mr. President

_

¹ Argentina, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Iraq, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia (former Yugoslav Republic of), Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA.