

CTI EXPERT FRIENDS

The following professionals are expert members of the CTI Group of Friends (listed alphabetically by surname):

Name	Affiliation
Steve Banks	Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police, United Kingdom
Jennifer S. Bryson (Dr.)	Fellow, Ethics and Public Policy Center; United States Former Guantanamo interrogator (2004-2006)
Raymond Bull (Professor)	Professor of Criminal Investigation, University of Derby, United Kingdom
Rafendi Djamin	Senior Adviser, Human Rights Working Group (HRWG), Indonesia
Alice Edwards (Dr.)	UN Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment & Former Head of CTI Secretariat
Malcolm Evans (Professor)	Professor of Public International Law, University of Bristol, United Kingdom
	Former Chairperson of the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture (SPT)
Carla Ferstman (Dr.)	Senior Lecturer, School of Law, University of Essex
	Former Director of REDRESS
Felice Gaer	Director, Jacob Blaustein Institute for the Advancement of Human Rights, United States
	Former member and Vice-Chairperson, UN Committee against Torture (2000-2019)
Claudio Grossman (Professor)	Professor of Law, Dean Emeritus and R. Geraldson Scholar for International and Humanitarian Law, American University Washington College of Law
	Former Chairperson, UN Committee against Torture (2008-2015)
Dadimos Haile (Professor)	Senior Research Advisor and Head of Business Development, Tadesse Kiros Law Office
	Associate Professor of Law, Bahir Dar University, Ethiopia
Abdelwahab Hani	Former member of the UN Committee against Torture
	Former member of the Board of the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT)

Claude Heller	Chairperson of the UN Committee against Torture
Erdogan Iscan	Member of the UN Committee against Torture and Lecturer at Istanbul Kültür University
Suzanne Jabbour	Executive Director, Restart Center for Rehabilitation of Victims of Violence and Torture
	Chairperson of the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture
Juan E. Méndez (Professor)	Professor of Human Rights Law in Residence, American University Washington College of Law
	Former Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment (2010-2016)
Becky Milne	Professor of Forensic Psychology, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Portsmouth
Jens Modvig (Dr.)	Chief Medical Officer, Danish Institute against Torture (DIGNITY)
	Former Chairperson of the UN Committee against Torture
	Clinical Associate Professor in Social Medicine and Rehabilitation, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Copenhagen
Lawrence Murugu Mute	Lecturer at the Faculty of Law, University of Nairobi and former Chairperson of the UN Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero	Member of the Committee on Prevention of Torture in Africa (CPTA)
Manfred Nowak	Professor of International Law and Human Rights, University of Vienna
(Professor)	Co-Director, Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Human Rights
	Former Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment (2004-2010)
Shane O'Mara (Professor)	Professor of Experimental Brain Research, Trinity College Dublin, and Principal Investigator and Director of the Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience.
Abdallah Ounnir (Professor)	Professor of Private Law and Criminal Sciences, Université Abdelmalek Essaadi, Tangier, Morocco
Anna Owers (Dame)	National Chair of the Independent Monitoring Boards, United Kingdom
Ana Racu	Member of the UN Committee against Torture
Diego Rodríguez-Pinzón (Professor)	Former member of the UN Committee against Torture
	Professorial Lecturer in Residence and Co-Director of the Academy on Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, American University Washington College of Law

Ruth Ssekindi	Director for Monitoring and Inspections, Uganda Human Rights Commission
Lilian Stein (Professor)	Professor, Psychology Postgraduate Department, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Nora Sveass	Member of the UN Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Oslo
Mark Thomson	Former Secretary General , APT
Sébastien Touzé	Member of the UN Committee against Torture Associate Professor of Public Law, Panthéon-Assas University Paris II, France Director of the René Cassin Foundation
Peter Vedel Kessing	Senior Researcher at the Danish Institute for Human Rights